Living In Balance

Living in Balance (The Virtues of Maat)


MAÁT: The symbolic representation of Maát as a *human figure with outreached hands and wings, is the Netcher of the weighing of the soul in ancient Kemet. The heart of the deceased was believed to be the seat of the soul and it was weighed on the scale of the Netcher Maát, against a feather, which represented the principles of truth and righteousness (the seven cardinal virtues). This symbolic weighing of the heart against the feather of truth (Maát) was performed to established the righteousness of the deceased.




The scale of Maát was balanced after the recitation of the “42” Declarations of Maát. The Neophyte or students ultimate aim in Kemet was for a person to become “One with God” or to “become like God.”Neophyte in ancient Kemet. In the final analysis, the ancient Kemites sought Maát or to be more correct they sought to become one with Maát, the cosmic order. The path to the development of godlike qualities was through the development of virtue, but virtue could only be achieved through special study and effort. According to George G. M. James in his timeless work Stolen Legacy writes: The following of the 10 virtues were sought by the  Neophyte in ancient Kemet. In the final analysis, the ancient Kemites sought Maát or to be more correct they sought to become one with Maát, the cosmic order.


(1). Control of thoughts


(2). Control of actions


(3). Devotion of purpose


(4). Have faith in the ability of [your] [teacher] to teach [you] the truth.


(5). Have faith in [yourself] to assimilate the truth


(6). Have faith in [themselves] to wield the truth


(7). Be free from resentment under the experience of persecution.


(8). Be free from resentment under the experience of wrong.


(9). Cultivate the ability to distinguish between right and wrong and


(10). Cultivate the ability to distinguish between the real and the unreal



Principles of MAÁT

















The 42 Divine Principles of the Goddess Ma’at


1.        I have not committed sin.                                                


2.        I have not committed robbery with violence.


3.        I have not stolen.


4.        I have not slain men or women


5.        I have not stolen food.


6.        I have not swindled offerings.


7.        I have not stolen from God/Goddess.


8.        I have not told lies.


9.        I have not carried away food.


10.     I have not cursed.


11.     I have not closed my ears to truth


12.     I have not committed adultery.


13.     I have not made anyone cry.


14.     I have not felt sorrow without reason


15.     I have not assaulted anyone


16.     I am not deceitful.


17.     I have not stolen anyone’s land


18.     I have not been an eavesdropper


19.     I have not falsely accused anyone.


20.     I have not been angry without reason.


21.     I have not seduced anyone’s wife.               


22.     I have not polluted myself.


23.     I have not terrorized anyone.


24.     I have not disobeyed the Law.


25.     I have not been exclusively angry.


26.     I have not cursed God/Goddess.


27.     I have not behaved with violence.


28.     I have not caused disruption of peace.


29.     I have not acted hastily or without thought.


30.     I have not overstepped my boundaries of concern.


31.     I have not exaggerated my words when speaking.


32.     I have not worked evil.


33.     I have not used evil thoughts,words or deeds.


34.     I have not polluted the water


35.     I have not spoken angrily or arrogantly.


36.     I have not cursed anyone in thought, word or deeds.


37.     I have not placed myself on a Pedestal.


38.     I have not stolen what belongs to God/Goddess.


39.     I have not stolen from or disrespected the deceased.


40.     I have not taken food from a child.


41.     I have not acted with insolence.


42.     I have not destroyed property belonging to God/Goddess.


**These 42 declarations were pronounced by the deceased after Anubis took him/her to the presence of the Goddess Maat and the Divine Judge Tehuti. If the Principles of Maat were respected the heart of the deceased would have nothing weighing down, so it would be lighter than the feather and everlasting life would be given due to respect of these laws that balance the Universe.


**It is from these Principles, erroneously called the 42 Negative Confessions by European Egyptologists that the Christian religion got it’s 10 Commandments. Unlike the Spook principle of Idols and exterior divinity the kemites  manifested the indwelling divinity and said “I have not” instead of being ordered “Thou Shalt not”.



















Leave a reply

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>